Decision to prolong the European Capitals of Culture 2020 to 2021

© European Union – Audiovisual service of the Council of the European Union

The Council adopted its position on a proposal which would allow the cities of Galway in Ireland and Rijeka in Croatia, designated as European Capitals of Culture for 2020, to continue implementing their programmes until 30 April 2021. The proposal also provides that Greece and Romania will host the title European Capital of Culture in 2023 instead of 2021.

The decision takes into account the COVID-19 pandemic which forced Galway and Rijeka to postpone or cancel events from March 2020 and created a very high level of uncertainty for cities initially designated to host the title in 2021.

It amends Decision № 445/2014/EU establishing a Union action for the European Capitals of Culture for the years 2020 to 2023. The decision currently in force does not include any provision on prolongation or postponement of the year when a particular city holds the title of a European Capital of Culture.

Read the press release: Culture committee backs extending 2020 European Capitals of Culture to 2021


Publication date